Healing Well!

Sorry for the lack of updates so far today. Unfortunately, I had to work all day and Mr. Pig was flying solo. Today is a bit of a milestone…  7 days ago today, Oslo was having emergency surgery. It’s officially been ONE WEEK.

This has absolutely been the craziest week of my life, without a doubt. I’ve been both blown away by the kindness and generosity of friends, family & strangers… and also a bit disappointed by the… lack of kindness of some family & friends. There are certainly those who think that what we are doing is ridiculous and silly, and a “waste of resources”.  I try not to focus on the negative… but these opinions really do get me down, especially when they are coming from people who’s opinions that I respect. I absolutely understand that not everyone would go to these lengths for their canine companion, and I respect that… but it makes me sad that some people can’t respect & appreciate our decisions for what they are– an act of dedication, compassion and unwavering love for another living creature.

Anyway! Again- I am trying not to focus on the negative. We really have had SUCH an outpouring of support from some very unexpected places and that has been so, so, enormously wonderful… and truly we are eternally grateful & indebted to you all! I’m trying to remind myself to focus on THAT instead. 🙂

Enough about my feelings! More about Oslo!

I’m happy to report that Oslo can stand on his own for several seconds at a time. He still isn’t planting his feet on his own, but every time we take him for a potty, we situate him in a standing postition, and he’s able to use his own strength to maintain that for 4-5 seconds. We’re taking it slow and NOT pushing him.. After all, the focus right now is letting his spine recovery and physical-therapy later… But we are definitely encouraging him to do a little bit every day. And he seems to be very up to the task!

I took a couple photos of his incision site. We think it’s looking great! My fingers are crossed that he’ll be able to have his staples out at some point this weekend. The vet told us “10-14 days” after surgery. We’ll see!

By the way! Have you bought your Raffle tickets yet??

5 thoughts on “Healing Well!

  1. The staples come out crazy fast, I think it took Dr. Guzma 10 seconds to remove all of Sam’s. They use a cool little scissor like tool and plink, plink, plink… it’s done!

  2. Hello! We have been following Oslo’s progress from the day of his surgery and are noting that his back looks like it is healing wonderfully. No signs of inflamation, and he certainly looks happier. We know how you feel about other people who do not seem to understand your love for you pet, we get our share of negative comments and eye-rolling, too. However, what is important is that Oslo and Jersey know that you love them both unconditionally – so everything else does not matter! We pray for a speedy and successful recovery for Oslo. By the way, we have a Frenchie, too. His name is Stitch and he is 8 years old now. Oslo reminds us very much of him!

  3. I know it’s hard Tamara, but try not to give the naysayers a second thought. It’s hard for people who aren’t dog lovers (or animal lovers for that matter) to understand how much these guys are truly members of our families. And NO ONE would take issue with having to spend this type of money on a child – and in my mind (and yours too I’m sure), Oslo is your child! You absolutely did the right thing and I know every time you get a kiss or a snort from Mr. Oslo, you’ll know this to be true too. I just know the four of you are going to have many MANY more healthy, happy, Frenchie-fun-filled years together – all because of the selflessness of the decision you and Justin made!! xo Lisa & Mr. Sweaterpants

  4. I know it’s hard Tamara, but try not to give the naysayers a second thought. It’s hard for people who aren’t dog or animal lovers to understand how much these guys are truly members of our families. And NO ONE would take issue with having to spend this type of money on a child – and in my mind (and yours too I’m sure), Oslo is your child! You absolutely did the right thing and I know every time you get a kiss or a snort from Mr. Oslo, you’ll know this to be true too. I just know the four of you are going to have many MANY more healthy, happy, Frenchie-fun-filled years together – all because of the selflessness of the decision you and Justin made!! xo Lisa & Mr. Sweaterpants

  5. I am reading this in June 2014, 9 weeks post op for our little mini dachshund IVDD, and I am so glad I found this blog…. my family (except my mom strangly enough) were the *least* supportive of everyone! The off hand comments of “lethal injections” and “how long are you going to do this” etc are so painful when we have had so much amazing support from the dachshund community, friends, neighbours and strangers! Thank you for sharing! Sharelyn and Lady Penelope

Leave a Reply

