meds meds meds

 

Just a quick update on how Oslo has been doing the last couple days…

He has been on some medication for the last 48 hours or so and seems to be doing very well. He is definitely much more comfortable and spirited. However, just because he FEELS better does not necessarily mean that he *is* better. His pain medication is likely just masking his pain quite well. He has to remain in strict crate rest and is only allowed out for brief bathroom breaks.

He has a Neuro appointment on Thursday which I am anxious about. I don’t necessarily know how the Doctor will really be able to even diagnose him with anything without doing a Cat Scan or MRI. I imagine he’ll just have to ‘take word for it’? I am also very anxious about the physical act of *bringing* Oslo to the vet. He’s on such strict crate rest… and I am absolutely terrified that he will damage himself in all the stress of going into a car and into the clinic. I seriously wish his Neurosurgeon would do house calls.

It’s been an extremely stressful few days. I guess at this point we can just be thankful that we recognized the symptoms so early, got him confined quickly, and were able to get him on the proper medications immediately. I think that if we can just keep him immobilized so that he doesn’t do any further damage, then with rest his spine will be able to heal itself.

… I hope.

|

3 thoughts on “meds meds meds

  1. Thanks for this update. I feel awful for Oslo- that he has to be so confined (for his own good, I know), that he has to take so many meds, and that there is uncertaintly about his health. But I also feel badly for you, the parents/owners/caretakers who have to be so disciplined with him, worry about him, and then try to pay for his medical treatment.

    I know if I were in your shoes, money would be an issue. I think you mentioned in a previous post that because of Oslo’s surgery and treatments that it’s dented your savings quite a bit. What if we did some sort of fundraiser online? I don’t know how many followers you have but I assume that you are probably on Facebook and Twitter? We can rally up some dog lovers and run some kind of Oslo campaign that’s full of life and fun- just like Oslo. Instead of trying to get people to feel sorry for Oslo (because everything you see or read about pets anymore is about how they need homes, fosters, are about to be euthanized, etc.), we get people to celebrate how far he’s come since his surgery, the journey that you’ve all taken together, and the bumpy road that you are still on.

    All you’d need to do is set up a paypal account do money is deposited right to you. Then the rest of us advocate for you and bring in the money! I’m ready to start !
    Juli and Izzy

  2. Thanks for this update. I feel awful for Oslo- that he has to be so confined (for his own good, I know), that he has to take so many meds, and that there is uncertaintly about his health. But I also feel badly for you, the parents/owners/caretakers who have to be so disciplined with him, worry about him, and then try to pay for his medical treatment.

    I know if I were in your shoes, money would be an issue. I think you mentioned in a previous post that because of Oslo’s surgery and treatments that it’s dented your savings quite a bit. What if we did some sort of fundraiser online? I don’t know how many followers you have but I assume that you are probably on Facebook and Twitter? We can rally up some dog lovers and run some kind of Oslo campaign that’s full of life and fun- just like Oslo. Instead of trying to get people to feel sorry for Oslo (because everything you see or read about pets anymore is about how they need homes, fosters, are about to be euthanized, etc.), we get people to celebrate how far he’s come since his surgery, the journey that you’ve all taken together, and the bumpy road that you are still on.

    All you’d need to do is set up a paypal account do money is deposited right to you. Then the rest of us advocate for you and bring in the money! I’m ready to start !
    Juli and Izzy

Leave a Reply

