2011 Recap

I can hardly believe that 2011 is in it’s final throws.  I feel like it was only a few weeks ago that I was waking up on the first day of 2011, remarking that I could “hardly believe” that it was already January 1st.. And now here we are again.

I will always remember 2011 as the year that several big things happened… One of those big things being Oslo’s spinal herniation, surgery and subsequent recovery. What we went through this summer (and I are still ‘going through’, though to a much lesser degree) with him changed all of us. It, of course, changed Oslo physically; He’ll never be able to play fetch again, rough house at the dog park, or even jump on or off the sofa. He’ll likely always be a bit wobbly and weak in his rear end, and I am not convinced that his bladder control will ever go totally back to normal. All of this is fine, of course, because it at least means that I still have him– and that’s truly all that I care about.

But more than how it changed Oslo physically, it  also changed me emotionally… It changed the way that I viewed strangers & even the way that I saw some people who were quite near to me– for the better (for some) and for the worse (for others). It changed, strengthened and weakened a few relationships that I had with a number of people. I am also not sure I’ll ever be able to see Oslo roll onto his back without cringing. Or keep myself from worrying about it happening again, and what-the-hell-will-I-do-THEN? It made me realize just how delicate & special these pets loved ones of ours can be, and just how important it is to have a PLAN incase/for when something huge happens.

On July 6 & 7th 2011, I was changed. Oslo was changed. Things changed. I am excited to see how they continue to evolve into 2012.

|

Have a safe & happy New Years Eve.

 -Tamara, Oslo & Jersey.
2 thoughts on “2011 Recap

Leave a Reply

