YES!

I got a comment on this blog today, from a wonderful lady named Tiffany. She said:

“I can’t tell you how happy I am that you created this blog. I started following Oslo after seeing his story on dailyfrenchie. Last week our Frenchie, Frank, started yelping when we picked him up. We rushed him to the emergency vet clinic. The vet on duty told us it was possibly IVDD, but to crate rest him for four weeks then come back to see the neurologist.

Since we had read your blog, we ignored that advice and took him to see the neurologist the next day. After a MRI, determined Frank has hemivertebrae that are causing his spine to bend at almost a 90 degree angle. This has caused IVDD. Frank is scheduled for surgery next week.

Thank you for writing this blog. Without Oslo’s story, we may have taken the ER vet’s advice, and been in a much worse situation.”

 

Yes yes yes!!! Oslo’s blog has been up and running for a year and a half now. It’s had over 30,000 unique views and hundreds of ‘comments’ and ‘likes’. However, nothing fills me with as much happiness and hearing people tell me that THIS blog made a difference to them. That because of this blog, they were able to recognize the early symptoms of IVDD. Or, because of this blog they now know what the recovery from surgery will look like, and they are no longer as scared. Or that this blog has given them hope that their dog can even recover at all.

If you know anyone with a ‘short legged dog’ (Frenchie, Corgi, Dachshund, Shi Tzu, Bichon Frise, Basset Hounds etc) please make sure that they are familiar with IVDD and what the early symptoms look like. There is no cure for this disease (surgery & strict crate rest are only treatments) but by catching it early, you can treat it much more effectively with crate rest, and surgery can occasionally be avoided. The problem is that the earliest symptoms can be incredibly  subtle and easy to over look. Often, only those who are familiar with the condition at all will catch it. Surgery is incredibly, and often impossibly, expensive (Oslo’s bill totalled $7,500). So! Save a life. Read up on IVDD today, and tell your friends!

 

 

2 thoughts on “YES!

  1. I must say I feel the same as Tiffany. I’m grateful I have not had to experience this with my Frenchie’s but, in the event I ever do, I’m so happy to at least have a baseline idea of what to do. I love your blog, I’ve been following it for a month or so and really enjoy it. Each time I look at a photo of your Frenchie’s they remind me of mine – Oliver and Emerson. Happy Monday and thank you for a wonderful blog.
    Staci

Leave a Reply

