sick again

I woke up yesterday morning at 5:30am to Jersey pacing outside my bedroom door. I got out of bed to see what he needed, and found that he’d vomited all over the kitchen floor. In the 10 minutes it took me to clean up the  mess, he’d vomited 3 more times. At that point I decided to just stay up & keep an eye on him.

The rest of the day didn’t go much better. He had NO appetite at all and was/is extremely lethargic. Fortunately he is still thirsty and will drink fresh water, but if he drinks too much- he throws that up too.

I wanted to give it 24 hours before heading to the vet… This morning makes 24 hours and I’ll tell you– he’s no better. His vomiting has stopped (probably because he has nothing in this tummy) but his lethargy is increased. He doesn’t even want to get out of his crate to go to the bathroom. It absolutely breaks up my heart. I think I was up almost all night worrying about him.

So, off to the vet he goes today. I have a sneaking suspicion that he’ll have to stay over night on an IV to get rehydrated and possible get some help with any pain. Hopefully they’ll be able to find out what is troubling him. It COULD be another infection of some sort (making 3 this year! A severe UTI/Bladder Infection in August and an anal gland abcess in September) or maybe he has something else more chronic going on. I really don’t know.

It breaks my heart to see him like this. My happy, loving, silly boy.

3 thoughts on “sick again

  1. Hopefully Jersey just ate something that didn’t agree with him and he’s just been cleaning house, so to speak. We’ve got our fingers and paws crossed and are sending positive energy to you both and to Oslo just for good measure!

Leave a Reply

