get insurance!

As many of you know, I am a HUGE advocate of Pet Health Insurance for ‘high risk’ breeds like Frenchies.

I was not covered when Oslo needed emergency spinal surgery. That mistake cost almost $8,000… and quite honestly, it also almost cost Oslo his life.

In the 2 excruciating hours that my ex-husband & I had to think about surgery and decide whether or not we would go forward (and if we did– how in the HELL would we ever pay for it?!), we absolutely considered putting Oslo down. We did not have the money to pay for it, we did not even have the money available on credit cards, and how could we ever BORROW that much money from family without a guarantee that Oslo would even make it through the surgery and even recover??! I am ashamed to admit it, but money weighed heavily on our decision. It was the lowest 2 hours of my life.

I am happy to report that Oslo’s story has a happy ending…. Ultimately, we chose surgery. Ultimately we chose to borrow as much money as we could, and then we took to the internet for donations. And the internet (and you!) came through in a way that I will absolutely never forget. This blog was born, Oslo had his surgery, Oslo recovered, and I am here today nagging you (yet again!) about the importance of Pet Insurance.

In that emergency vet’s waiting room, while I sobbed my eyes out and begged strangers on the internet for money to help me save MY dog’s life, I vowed that I would NEVER again let money play a role in decisions like this. MONEY should never stand in the way of whether or not you do what is best for your loved ones. It’s true for humans, and it’s true for animals. If medical care is viable, could save your pet’s life, make them happier/healthier/more comfortable, and they have a solid chance at a good recovery– you should be able to choose YES, without all the $$ and cents hanging over your head. You should be able to do what is in the best interest of your loved ones without worrying about whether or not you will be able to eat or keep a roof over your head if you do it. Money should not be part of the equation!

And THAT is why I say over and over and over and over and over again to GET PET INSURANCE!

Don’t find yourself sobbing in a veterinarian’s office while you decide whether or not to put your beloved pet to sleep, because you simply can’t afford the $3,000 bill. Don’t do that to yourself and do not do that to your pet.

To highlight my point, I am going to share with you the story of Charlie… a beautiful Frenchie in Calgary, AB who recently suffered (and survived!) a 30ft fall. He is getting the care he needs because his owners had the foresight to have him insured.

Screen Shot 2013-06-25 at 9.27.59 AM

(You can follow Charlie on Instagram HERE)

4 thoughts on “get insurance!

  1. I just want to thank you. Oslo’s story is what finally convinced my husband was a good idea. We had previously owned an accident prone, entropic, American Bulldog that cost us a good bit over his lifetime. The husband thought we could handle whatever came down the pike. I shared Oslo’s story with him and the very next day we purchased insurance for our Frenchie. The piece of mind is amazing. To not ever have to tell my vet “I can’t afford the treatment” lets me sleep well at night.

    Thank You and Thank Oslo!

    1. Thank you so much, Alicia!! I am so glad!! Don’t get me wrong, when I think about insurance companies making a fortune off pet-owners, I get angry like the rest of us! But I get even more upset when I think about something horrible happening to one of our pets and “not being able to afford treatment”. Ultimately, my desire to have my pets live long, healthy lives, overrides my distaste for the insurance industry. I am SO glad that Oslo’s story could help convince your husband. I truly hope that you’ll never need to put that insurance to use ❤

Leave a Reply

