Getting into the photo

I take a LOT of photos of my dogs. A lot. I have countless, fabulous, photos of both of them over the years. Photos that I will cherish and love always. But do you know what is in shockingly short supply? Photos of myself WITH them.

Maybe it’s the advent of the iPhone to blame… I take fewer and fewer images with my DSLR and more and more with my iPhone. It’s convenient, yes. But the image quality is severely lacking.. and let’s face it, it’s pretty hard to take a ‘selfie’ with your iPhone while you have a wiggly French Bulldog (or two!) in your lap. So I just don’t bother.

Maybe it’s my Husband’s fault… Because he never picks up my camera  and takes photos of the dogs and I when we are doing something cute… which is obviously ALL THE TIME, c’mon! (Notice how I can find a way to blame absolutely anything on my husband? It’s a skill, really!)

Or maybe? Just maaaaybe, it’s my own damn fault. For getting lazy. For not really thinking about it. For not really caring about it all that much.

When I was in my early 20’s, I had a fantastic Jack Russell Terrier named Ben. He was the love of my life. We travelled the world together and went on countless adventures. And I was SO GOOD about taking photos with him! I’d set up my camera’s self timer and get down into those photos. And amazingly, it wasn’t because I wanted to share these photos of myself on Facebook or Instagram– because this was years before any of those things. It was because I loved him, and I wanted to document US. Ben passed away 3.5 years ago. He was 13 years old. I said goodbye to him at a Vet’s office in San Francisco, California.

And now there’s Oslo & Jersey. And there’s the iPhone. And there’s Facebook and Instagram and Twitter. And I have two (TWO!) Canon DSLRs on the shelf next to me.. But do I take photos of myself and my dogs? No, no I do not. Are they aging like Ben did? Will they one day be gone like Ben is? Will I regret not making sure that photos were taken? Yes, Yes, and YES.

So, one of my goals this year is to take photos of myself with my dogs. Set up my self timer. Take cheesy ‘Selfies’ with my iPhone. Ask my husband to pick up my camera sometime and take a photo of us.  And you know what? I think that you should do the same. Get down into photos with your pets. Get down into photos with your KIDS. Get into photos with your spouse, with your Mom, with your Dad…. with your best friend! Get into photos with the creatures and people that you love. Times change. Kids grow. The beasts that we love are taken from us. All you will have left are those photos… so make sure that you have some to hang on to.

In memorium of Ben.. Here are my favourite shots of he & I together:

Ben & I in Calgary, AB.
Germany.
Vancouver, BC

Oslo, Ben & I… Oregon Coast.
San Francisco, CA. Just a few days before we said Goodbye.
3 thoughts on “Getting into the photo

Leave a Reply

