lasting legacy

Every so often I receive a comment on this blog that lifts my spirits and reminds me that I am not just talking to myself. Today, I received one such comment from a lovely lady named Carolyn,

“I just wanted to thank you for posting your experience with Oslo and his IVDD experience.

A week ago my French Bulldog Leo woke up having trouble standing on his rear legs. Like Oslo Leo just turned 3 the end of July. I took him to the vet not knowing what was going on. The vet gave him a shot of an anti inflammatory and sent us home. Leo got progressively worse throughout the day.

My daughter found your article about Oslo online and showed it to me. At first I thought no this can’t be happening but all the symptoms were the same. I called the vet back telling him Leo was much worse and mentioned IVDD. He prescribed a painkiller and told me if he was worse tommorow that I would have to take him to a neurologist. At 4 am the next morning I woke up to hear Leo panting and unable to move. I took him to the animal hospital where they admitted him, did an MRI, and immediately did surgery for a slipped disc.

It’s a week later and Leo is standing and attempting to walk. He drags his back legs but it’s getting better. He goes for therapy everyday. Like you I didn’t have insurance because up until this Leo was very healthy. I feel had it not been for your article I may not have acted so quickly with taking him to the hospital. The doctor told me it was a fresh slip and I had caught it early enough that there was minor bruising and damage to the spine.

Thank you again I feel you saved Leo!

I receive comments/emails like these once every few months, and each one means so, so much to me! IVDD is such a scary disease. Having your pet diagnosed with it can be SO confusing, overwhelming, and isolating. Worse still is when there is something very wrong with your baby, but the Vet seems unable to really figure out what is going on.  It brings me SO much happiness to know that people are able to use the power of the internet to search keywords like “french bulldog weakness in legs”, find my blog, bring what they learn to their Veterinarians, and get proper diagnoses.

Obviously stuff you read on the internet should never be a substitute for the well-informed opinion of a medical professional.. But if there’s one thing I have learned in my dealings with IVDD (and I have learned a lot) it’s that sometimes veterinarians– as educated & well-meaning as they are– make mistakes. They’re human beings, like you & I. Sometimes they don’t recognize symptoms. Sometimes they don’t put the pieces together in their brains. And sometimes, like all humans, sometimes they are just plain wrong.

It’s up to us as our pet’s “owners”, guardians, and family-members to be our pet’s advocates. To do our research. To be diligent. To leave no stone unturned. I am so glad that Oslo’s blog continues to be a helpful resource to those dealing with IVDD. What a lasting legacy this has become!

PS– Do you have Pet Insurance? You should!

One thought on “lasting legacy

  1. I am so thrilled and comforted to have found your blog. My 3 year old Frenchie, Beans, was JUST diagnosed with IVDD and we are currently starting conservative treatment. This has turned my whole world upside down and your blog is so informative from an every-day, living with this illness perspective. Everything else online is very clinical and doesn’t address the emotional challenges that this disease causes. Thank you, thank you, thank you for keeping this blog. I’m so happy to see your Oslo doing so well years after his back problems. It gives me hope that our baby will make it through this.

    Once again,

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

