Cervical/Neck Troubles. Days 7, 8 & 9.

Jersey spent Days 7 & 8 in hospital recovering. I got daily updates from the neurology team to let me know how he was doing. They reported that he was moving around well, in good spirits, eating, and generally doing fine. Great news!

On Day 9 (after 3 nights in hospital) I came to pick my boy up. Having seen Oslo go through spinal surgery 5 years ago, I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect… But Jersey’s situation was SO MUCH BETTER than Oslo’s. Because Jersey never lost the ability to walk and move, he didn’t need to regain anything, so he more or less looked ‘normal’. Sore, and with a massive incision, but ‘normal’. It was a massive relief.

(When Oslo came home from spinal surgery 5 years ago, he had a catheter, was paralyzed in the rear, had to re-learn how to walk and function… etc etc etc. It was an entirely different beast.)

Jersey was sent home with Gabapentin and Percocet for pain. Each given every 8 hours. We were instructed to keep him on strict crate rest (only coming out for short potty breaks) for 2 weeks. After 2 weeks, we could slowly relax the crate-rules, but he was not to play or rough house for a minimum of 6 weeks.

I always have mixed feelings when I bring my boys home from a surgery. I’m happy to have them home and have the worst part of it over with, but it pains and worries me deeply to see them in pain. I stress and agonize in a way that I can’t quite explain. So, while I was happy that he was well enough to come home, I certainly wasn’t rejoicing at the idea of the amount of anxiety I knew I’d be experiencing by having him back. Oy.

30249046364_e28bd36fcf_c

Leave a Reply

