Oslo turns ten

jenchris-2.jpg

Yesterday Oslo turned 10 years old. 

When Oslo first came home to me, I was 24 years old and living it up in a 1 bedroom apartment in downtown Vancouver. To say my life has changed since then would be an understatement. One thing, however, has not changed– and that’s how much I love this little fella.

I started this blog for Oslo just before his 3rd birthday when he was in the hospital having emergency spinal surgery. I’ve kept it up since then as a means of updating all of Oslo’s supporters and also educating others on IVDD.

At 10 years old, Oslo is greyer, lazier, and wobblier than ever, but he has the same joie de vivre that he has always had in his heart. He loves all people, hates all puppies (grown-up dogs are ok), and will consume any and all food. His passions in life include snuggles on the sofa, nibbling strawberries off the bush, sunbathing, and barking at dogs that he sees on TV.

He is obsessive about balls that roll under the sofa, and can’t stand to have his back feet touched. He pees when he gets too excited. He loves chewing nylabones and sticks. And if you take a fresh blanket out of the dryer he absolutely can never wait to crawl up inside it.

As I look at Oslo’s ever-greying face I am constantly reminded that I will not have forever with this sweet boy of mine. There will come a time, much too soon, when we will have to say goodbye. Even typing those words brings tears burning to my eyes. My #1 wish with both of my boys is that they never doubt how loved and precious they are to me.

So, Oslo, on this 10th birthday, I wish you health and comfort. I wish that when you go to sleep at night you feel safe and secure in my unwavering commitment to and love for you. You are so special and so loved.
jenchris598

One thought on “Oslo turns ten

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY OSLO!!!!!

    I can never thank you enough for sharing Oslo’s story. I still have my beautiful Gizmo, wobbly, drunken monkey that he is, because I found your blog and learned what IVDD looked like. I also took your advice and insured him before he showed any signs of problems.

    $15,000 in medical bills and two surgeries later he is still here because I knew the symptoms (because of you) and had the financial freedom to look at his surgeon and say “Do what ever is best for him” (because of you).

    So, thank you. Those words seem too small to contain the wealth of feeling behind them. Every time I look at Gizmo’s wobbly walk and that precious face, I say a prayer of gratitude for you and Oslo.

Leave a comment