An impossible goodbye

Oslo11yrs-2

I can’t believe I am here today writing this post.. It’s with the heaviest heart that I must share with you all the passing of my dear friend of 11 years, Oslo.

Out of nowhere in the wee hours of the morning of August 23, 2019, Oslo started having violent seizures. One particularly bad seizure lasted over an hour. It was horrible.

He was seen by his amazing veterinary team within hours. After ruling out any other undying medical conditions, it was determined that (due to his age and breed and the extremely sudden onset of symptoms) he was most likely suffering from a brain tumour.

I made the very hard decision to say goodbye to him that morning, while he was still bright and himself, and still had some dignity left. Our vet team was incredible throughout and let us do it on the lawn of the clinic– with birds in the trees, and the sun shining warmly. I laid down with him while he passed, whispering into his ear the whole time how good of a boy he was and how loved he is.

His tense body relaxed, he laid his sweet head down, and went to sleep.

6E6A8768

Oslo.

My boy.

I thought we had more time. I have loved you since the first time I laid eyes on you. Being your mama and #1 advocate over all these years has been one of the greatest joys of my life.

I’m sorry for all the times I was impatient, or didn’t give you as many carrots as you wanted. There are so many things I wish I could go back to do differently. Thank you for being such a wonderful boy, for loving and being kind to my son, for your loyalty, and for your trust.

I hope that I did the right thing for you. And I hope that you are now on the other side of the rainbow bridge with full use of those silly back legs of yours— doing the French 500 like never before.

I love you. I love you. I love you. I hope the life I gave you was enough.

To all of our loyal readers, I hope that sharing Oslo’s story and journey with IVDD has helped you all overcome your own struggles. Oslo was diagnosed with IVDD at the age of 3… and he went on to live well into a normal life expectancy for a French Bulldog. In the end, it was a brain tumour that took him from us at 11 years old.

If there is one take away from Oslo’s story, it is this: There is life after and with IVDD.

I will continue to share photos of my boy Jersey on our Instagram at @OsloandJersey. Please join us there.

3 thoughts on “An impossible goodbye

  1. I am so sorry to hear this. I want you to know that Oslo and your story were so important to me when my Max had back surgery in January 2017. I happened upon your blog while frantically searching for something positive to hope for. I read everything and laughed and cried for/with you. Thank You so much for sharing. Oslo was a very special pup with a very special mom ❤️

Leave a comment